a place to showcase

In the Triangle of Sri Lankan Culture

After reaching the beautiful resort at Habarana, we sipped a cool drink at the reception while being checked in. It was so peaceful and relaxing to just be there, admiring the layout as we walked to the little chalet that was assigned to us. All the hotels we stayed at in Sri Lanka had their own charm, and Chhaaya Village was perhaps the most charming, long-tailed monkey families scampering across the lawns next to a lotus lake, on the other side of which marched a row of elephants.

Funny thing about road trips and travelling together is the three of us sharing the same bathroom along the way, and it gets funnier if we all need to go at the same time 🙂

We opted to have a relaxed afternoon, freshening up with showers, a leisurely lunch followed by nap for me while Huz and Amu went for a romp.

The next day we set off for Anuradhapura after an early breakfast. It was a long drive to get there and ultimately we kicked ourselves for it.

We paid $25 each to explore this place (probably a hundred times more than the locals), Anuradhapura being one of the ancient capitals of Sri Lanka, famous for its well-preserved ruins of ancient Sri Lankan civilization….but we skedaddled from there as fast as we could. It was horribly hot!! I would have loved to roam around on a cloudy, drizzly day and the remnants were indeed fascinating and terribly historic. But Amu and I found ourselves longing to be submerged in the cool pool at the resort in Habarana :/

And once again, I was far more fascinated by the monkeys than the ancient Sacred Bodhi Tree :/

9 responses

  1. Aah! Thank you for this breath of fresh air on a quiet Sunday, M 🙂 And just as I was beginning to get over my SL pangs…you go rekindling the flame 😛 Such a beautiful place…I love that the places you visited don’t seem touristy…or is it just that you’ve managed to avoid the crowds? Is Habarana also the name of the place? Haven’t heard of it before. More info please to share!

    Elephants across the lake…I hope they’re coming up in your next post 🙂

    February 23, 2014 at 11:58 am

    • Oh H, there were quite a few people coming in to pay their respects at the Shri Ma Bodhi temple, it’s just that I was too hot and bothered to take people pictures! 🙂 There were plenty of tourists everywhere, but not in an overwhelming way thankfully. All in all, it was a rather peaceful experience, a welcome respite from Karachi.
      Habarana is the name of the place (famous for its elephants) and Chhaaya is the name of a chain of resorts in Sri Lanka. 🙂 We didn’t go for an elephant ride, just stayed put and chilled after the Anuradhapura debacle! We were in no mood to part with any more unnecessary dollars, so enjoyed a different kind of ‘creature’ comfort, hehehe.

      February 23, 2014 at 12:27 pm

  2. Great pictures. I almost feel as if I’m there.

    But then, I only almost feel as if I’m here. It’s probably due to the lack of lettuce.

    Have a great holiday. Regards, Graham 🙂

    February 23, 2014 at 12:22 pm

    • I just have to look at these pictures and I’m there again too. Anywhere but Karachi…but hey, I just stocked up on lettuce, with some arugula to spice things up!
      By the way Graham, these pictures are from summer last year….I should have finished the Sri Lanka series at least four months ago, but…I guess it didn’t happen. Blogging in earnest to wrap it up 🙂

      February 24, 2014 at 4:56 pm

      • Don’t wear yourself out though. Have fun but leave poor Earnest alone. 🙂

        February 24, 2014 at 9:39 pm

  3. Do you find you need a nap when it’s too hot? The heat makes me so sleepy. Plus your room had to be just screaming that you come nap, so I don’t blame you for relaxing.
    I also don’t blame you for the monkey-watching, but then you already knew I’d be into those pics! Like Harsha, I’d like to see the elephants that were just over that wall!

    February 23, 2014 at 7:45 pm

    • We just watched the elephants marching in the distance I’m afraid. Needed to recover from the expeditions of the previous days, so decided to stay put and just enjoy being at the resort. So we ate and swam and slept and read and walked and wrote…..it was lovely. A great place to unwind. 🙂
      And yes, heat is a sleep-inducing drug! Not looking fwd to summer at all 😦 (that is probably the opposite of how you feel!)

      February 24, 2014 at 5:12 pm

  4. Gosh, what a gorgeous place and what great photos. I especially love the monkey shots. Hope you are doing well, my friend.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    February 23, 2014 at 11:19 pm

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the monkeys Kathy, as you can tell, I did too 🙂

      February 24, 2014 at 5:13 pm

penny for your thoughts? :)

