a place to showcase

hill country ~ 2

Our 11 days in Sri Lanka were essentially a road trip. We criss-crossed the island, winding up the hills, then down the hills, and onwards to flatter landscapes. It was lush and green all the way. We clicked hundreds of pictures, the camera passing from hand to hand, silently watching the landscape unfold, exchanging awed smiles.

I got a taste of how Huz must have felt on his way up to Nuwara Eliya. Realized no matter how breathtaking the landscape, you can’t enjoy it if you’re car sick. Winding mountainous roads unfortunately go hand in hand with amazing beauty 😐

I’m so glad I have these panoramic pictures to enjoy now with none of the queasiness 🙂

theroad11
tea country

theroad12theroad14
theroad10

theroad7

you can tell why it’s called The Emerald Isle, can’t you?

theroad1

theroad3
theroad4theroad13
theroad5
theroad6

theroad8

Amu took this fantastic shot

theroad9

this one too

12 responses

  1. It’s so lush, and reminds me strongly of Hawaii. Sorry about the car sickness. I don’t seem to get it, but most of my friends and family do. :-/

    October 6, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    • We had to stop when it got unbearable so I could get out and get some fresh air and walk around a bit 😛 SO glad you don’t get car sick!!

      p.s. now i know what Hawaii looks like! 🙂

      October 7, 2013 at 7:00 am

  2. Exquisite beauty! (Although I almost got carsick just thinking about it.) You are really a good photographer. (As is Heather up above.)

    October 6, 2013 at 3:29 pm

    • Beautiful indeed, and I hope it stays peaceful now. Why must there be ethnic strife in the world??

      I’m sorry for making you almost carsick Kathy! 🙂 Amu and I thank you for your comment….after all, she has taken 75% of these photos. I have to make sure I give her credit for them!

      p.s you are a WONDERFUL photographer yourself, and I love the way you imbue them with a different interpretation altogether….like the first one in your flute post 🙂

      October 7, 2013 at 7:13 am

  3. Ahh, this is beautiful. I can almost smell the wet soil. Everything looks so richly coloured.

    October 7, 2013 at 5:26 am

    • God bless that wet soil! A vivider landscape I have never seen…..except perhaps in Thailand 😉

      October 7, 2013 at 7:16 am

  4. I’m running out of adjectives M!! All I want now is to go there and soak up the atmosphere 🙂

    October 7, 2013 at 6:31 am

    • I know what you mean H! Tell me, have you been to Kerala? I imagine it looks a bit like this….

      October 7, 2013 at 7:18 am

      • I have been to small town Kerala although not the famous backwaters yet – but Munnar a hill station there is similarly misty with lots of tea and coffee plantations, but less wild you know what I mean? Too many people here – everywhere 😦

        Goa gets like this in the Monsoons – without the curving, uphill roads though! Ooty’s similar (with the curving, uphill roads!), but again – too touristy for my liking.

        Tell me, is this place as devoid of tourists as you’ve made it seem or is that just your skill in editing out humans? 😉

        October 7, 2013 at 8:41 am

        • HAHAHA! It does seem rather sparsely populated now that you mention it! Hmmm….perhaps that’s why it turned out to be a relaxing vacation…..
          That’s it H, you gotta go there next year.

          October 7, 2013 at 5:58 pm

  5. The country looks so lush. I’d never before considered Sri Lanka a destination but it’s on my radar now. Thanks, Mun.

    October 17, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    • It’s paradise to a desert dweller like me! Maybe you could take a detour on your way back from India 😉

      October 17, 2013 at 3:19 pm

penny for your thoughts? :)

