a place to showcase

Misty magic ~ 2

Sri Lanka, Horton Plains: (is it still only Day 2?)

So we walked on from World’s End, juggling three umbrellas, a backpack, a sling bag and a bulky camera bag between us. Wasn’t easy to take pictures AND keep the camera (and phone) dry, and Amu and I kept stopping to look around and look at things and capture it all through one lens or the other (we had three) while Huz was content to just focus on walking and enjoying being ‘present’.

There was a disembodied sense of floating in a cloud, where only the trail was in sharp focus and the rhododendrons all around. All else (streams, waterfalls, bridges) seemed to just…materialize…through the mist.

I’m glad we took as many pictures as we did. Really, it all seems like a dream now.

misty1
misty2
misty3
misty4
misty6
misty7
misty8
misty10
misty11
misty13
misty14
misty15
misty16
misty17
misty18
misty19

14 responses

  1. Oh my gosh, I want to go there! So beautiful! I know that feeling you get when walking through the mist. It reminds me of my hiking vacation in the Yorkshire Dales one autumn. Mist so dense that I couldn’t see more than 8 feet ahead. Just mist, silence and reddish brown grass. With every so often a sheep appearing, looking mildly surprised.

    September 16, 2013 at 7:51 pm

    • I hope you make your way there some day, it really IS a very scenic place. Love the idea of a hiking vacation, does one go on a hike every day? It took me a couple of days to recover from this 9 km walk! Should definitely hike more often. The combination of elements (wind, cold, mist, quiet, greenery) is terribly uplifting! πŸ™‚

      September 16, 2013 at 8:13 pm

      • Ha-ha, yes, walking most days is the general idea. πŸ˜‰
        I’ll write a post about my hiking vacations one of these days.

        September 17, 2013 at 2:22 am

        • I’ll look forward to it! πŸ™‚

          September 17, 2013 at 7:21 pm

  2. What gorgeous images! I have never been to Sri Lanka but Sara has been there more times than I can count–always for work and primarily in the years after the 2004 tsunami. Thanks for sharing these lovely photos!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    September 16, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    • Thank you so much Kathy! Much love to you and Sara<3

      September 17, 2013 at 7:25 pm

  3. It looks like a dream even in your photos! “Materialize” is just the right word to describe the changing scenery in a fog-scape. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚
    …Now where are those waterfalls? πŸ˜‰

    September 16, 2013 at 10:26 pm

    • Hahah….patience Iago! πŸ™‚ It took an hour to reach the falls from World’s End you know! πŸ˜‰

      September 17, 2013 at 7:28 pm

      • Well I do now πŸ˜‰

        September 17, 2013 at 7:39 pm

  4. 3 Cheers for Huz for overcoming temptation & managing to stay in the moment! But I’m glad Amu and you chose to take pics πŸ˜‰ I think SL is now definitely a hot favorite for next year’s holiday πŸ˜€

    September 17, 2013 at 5:23 am

    • Indeed H! Although Amu and I were in our own states of bliss . It was a strange, strange state of mind to be in for us city folk…an almost overwhelming sense of other-worldliness, if you know what I mean. So much beauty!!

      September 17, 2013 at 7:35 pm

  5. They are all breathtaking, but I love the long shot that begins so close to the path. Beautiful!

    September 19, 2013 at 2:53 am

    • Thanks Re! That shot was Amu working her magic. She composes her shots so creatively! I feel so proud as I give her credit for the best photos taken on this trip πŸ™‚

      September 19, 2013 at 6:21 am

  6. It all looks like a dream too! Isn’t it nice sometimes to have these excursions out of normal consciousness? I love that last photo πŸ™‚

    September 20, 2013 at 6:14 pm

penny for your thoughts? :)

