a place to showcase

hill country

After a 6 hour, winding drive up hilly terrain, we finally reach Nuwara Eliya, once called Little England. Huz had been pretty car sick, so it is a relief to get out. It is cold here, compared to Colombo, and a waiter (at The Grand, where we are staying) brings us hot cinnamon tea, to be sipped through pieces of jaggery. It is deliciously warming.
We don light hoodies and set off for an exploratory walk around the hotel.

poinsettia

have i ever seen poinsettia before? not sure.

pinkandblue

never-seen-before flora

morningglory

morning gloryish…..love the vivid bluey-purpley color

moss

mossy tree

trees

the trees were huge!

treehuggers

must hug!

thegrand

Amu clicked this one šŸ™‚ The wind whips my hair around. Behind me is The Grand hotel, smacking of a colonial past. The bay window on the top left is ours!

17 responses

  1. Words fail me M!! Gorgeous pics šŸ™‚ I MUST go to the Emerald Isle soon šŸ˜Š & of course…pick your brains before I do! The hotel looks stunning…I’m hoping you have interior pics!

    August 16, 2013 at 5:51 am

    • Hey H! I’m scattering my pix over the blog and on fb….had posted an album called ‘Dinky’s vacation’….i think you’ll enjoy that one šŸ˜‰
      For some reason, I wasn’t compelled to do a lot of photography, maybe cos Amu and I were sharing our Nikon….we had a few fights over it….then I decided to be ‘mature’ šŸ˜›

      August 16, 2013 at 9:59 am

      • How come it didn’t show up on my feed? But I’ve been scatter-brained for several months now with this move that never seems done!! You know what I mean? I thought it would be simple – have done it often enough but didn’t realise age and children just make everything less easy šŸ˜‰

        Oh! And you must share the secret of how you made that decision!! I could do with a generous dollop of maturity right about now šŸ˜›

        August 16, 2013 at 10:05 am

        • I’m glad you finally met Dinky! And as far as moving is concerned, better you than me! So much work! šŸ˜®

          The secret in being mature is in realizing you take in more with your eyes if they aren’t behind a camera šŸ˜‰

          September 8, 2013 at 9:30 am

  2. tazeen

    simply awesome…..what flora and everything’s lovely

    August 16, 2013 at 6:36 am

    • I was intoxicated by all the lush greenery…..it is indeed, a very beautiful country. Nuwara Eliya is breathtakingly gorgeous, and I sure hope I go back some day šŸ™‚

      August 16, 2013 at 10:01 am

  3. This looks like such a lovely trip, Mun! What are the flowers in the second photo. Gosh, they are stunning! Hope you are well, my dear. I think of you every time Pakistan is in the news. Hope you and your family will come visit us in the Andes one of these days.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    August 16, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    • It was indeed very lovely Kathy, Amu has decided she wants to move there šŸ™‚ No clue about the pink and blue flowers, but they are so curious-looking, aren’t they?
      Ah…Ecuador. Soon, I hope!

      August 20, 2013 at 7:07 am

  4. Gah! Your posts just showed up in my feed today šŸ˜¦
    Even though my dad thinks they are weeds, I’ve always loved morning glories! So glad you hugged the tree. I can never resist snuggling up to a giant one šŸ™‚

    August 19, 2013 at 3:40 pm

    • Hahah, I’m glad you finally spotted them Heather! šŸ˜€ Speaking of tree-hugging, I got up close to a really huge one to better observe the bark….it happened to be covered in a gazillion spindly-legged black spiders! šŸ˜ Decided to keep my distance after that……

      August 20, 2013 at 7:13 am

      • Good call! Spiders aren’t nearly as snuggly as trees!

        August 20, 2013 at 1:24 pm

        • Reminded me of Ron and the spiders in Chamber of Secrets!

          August 27, 2013 at 8:25 pm

  5. Poinsettia are a Christmas plant here. They get everywhere in the shops. Great pics. I’m glad I’ve woken up to catch your Sri Lanka trip !

    August 25, 2013 at 9:43 am

    • That’s what I thought when I saw it here, I thought, ‘How Christmassy’! šŸ™‚
      I think we’re entitled to taking breaks now and then, aren’t we? But what happened to your India trip??

      August 27, 2013 at 8:15 pm

      • It is happening. First couple of weeks of October. I suddenly got cold feet about advertising to the world that I was going away. Fortunately we now have someone to keep an eye on the house (maybe I suddenly got paranoid – unlike me, really).

        August 28, 2013 at 5:21 am

  6. I’ve been intrigued by Sri Lanka since I read my friend Nayomi’s book. I’m so glad you visited so I can have a look through your eyes (lens). šŸ™‚

    August 28, 2013 at 5:23 pm

    • I’m being so lazy sifting through the hundreds of pictures we took and putting them up here….I think I should give myself some time each day to do that, since I really feel the need to chronicle this trip in detail. šŸ™‚

      September 8, 2013 at 9:56 am

penny for your thoughts? :)

